Take a trip back in time to 1800s Nantucket. Built in 1790, this typical Quaker house was acquired by the Mitchell family in 1818. The home became a museum in 1903 when the Maria Mitchell Association’s founders acquired the house to preserve the legacy of one of Nantucket’s most illustrious daughters.
The house contains many stunning artifacts from the Mitchells’ daily life in the 19th century, and many of Maria’s personal items such as beer mugs, opera glasses, and her Dolland telescope. The house is especially known for the remarkably preserved example of faux-wood grain painting in the kitchen from the 1850s.
The Mitchell House was named as one of the Top 10 Women’s History sites in the country by USA Today! Please come visit us to learn about the history of one of America’s most fascinating women: Maria Mitchell!
Guided Tours and Programs
Due to the COVID-19/Coronavirus Pandemic, the Mitchell House will be closed to the public. However, there are opportunities for women’s history walking tours for small groups of adults (no more than five people) which include Maria Mitchell. Please contact the curator, Jascin N. Leonardo Finger at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Guided tours are available mid-June through the end of August each season. Mitchell House will be open from 10-4 Mondays and Fridays and 10-1 on Saturdays.
The Mitchell House also hosts programs for adults, children, and families focusing on the Mitchell family’s daily life and their contributions to Nantucket history. Please check our calendar for current programming.
Check out these videos to learn more!